If you've been arrested for Driving While Intoxicated (DWI), you're probably wondering what your rights are and what punishments you may face. Read on to learn more about the Implied Consent law, criminal penalties, the revocation of your license, and refusal of a breath test.
In Missouri, the implied consent law for driving while intoxicated requires drivers to submit to a blood alcohol or breathalyzer test if the officer requests it. Under the law, refusing to submit to the test will result in a one-year license suspension. The state has provided general information about breathalyzer tests and their procedures. In addition, the implied consent law allows drivers to contact an attorney within a specified period of time if they disagree with the results of the test.
Generally, DWIs involving minors are handled in the Municipal, Associate Circuit, and Juvenile Court. In Missouri, if you have a blood alcohol content of.08 or higher, the arresting officer must inform you of your rights and responsibilities under the law. You must be aware of the consequences of refusing to submit to these tests, such as losing your license for one year and being required to install an ignition interlock device for six months.
A DWI charge in Missouri requires police to have reasonable suspicion to pull you over and administer a chemical test. If you have an 0.08% BAC level or higher, you may face jail time and even loss of driving privileges. The punishments for a DWI charge range from a fine of up to $500 to a year in jail and a suspended license.
If you have been pulled over for driving while intoxicated, you'll have to face the consequences of a revoked license. You'll lose your driving privileges for a year. But you can get your license back by paying a fine and proving you've completed SATOP or SR-22 insurance. In some cases, you'll be given a hardship driver's license in addition to a suspended license.
If you've been arrested for driving while intoxicated in Missouri, you have several options for defending your license. First, you must request a hearing. You can challenge the suspension in court, but you need to do so within 15 days of your arrest. You can also request a hearing through the Department of Corrections.
The suspension will be for a year if you are under the age of 21. If you have a history of alcohol-related offenses, you can expect a 30-day suspension. After that, you will have to serve 60 days of restricted driving. After that, you'll have to wait a year to get your license back. You'll also have to face the loss of your driving privilege for at least a year if you have multiple convictions for DWI.
If you have been arrested for driving while intoxicated in Missouri, you have a choice between giving a breath test or refusing to take one. If you refuse, you will be liable for a one-year license revocation. But there are a few exceptions to this rule. Under Missouri's implied consent law, drivers under 21 must give a preliminary breath test.
The penalties for refusing to take a breath test or chemical test while driving while intoxicated in Missouri vary from state to state. In most states, a refusal to take a chemical test may result in a one-year license revocation. Fortunately, a driver can appeal his or her decision to a traffic court commissioner.
Breath test refusal while driving while in Missouri may also result in a suspended driver license. In Missouri, a driver must have a blood alcohol content of.08 percent or more in order to be considered under the influence. However, in some cases, drivers with a blood alcohol level below that level can still be found guilty of driving under the influence.